Educating our clients and the general public is paramount to our team.  An informed person is able to make educated decisions about their policy and have the peace of mind, knowing what they are and are not covered for.  Here are a few frequently asked questions that may assist you in understanding your policy.

[toggles style=”default”][toggle color=”Default” title=”I am registering a vehicle for the first time in Florida. Is automobile insurance mandatory?”]

Yes. If you own a vehicle with at least four wheels and are registering it, you must have Florida insurance.

Yes, according to the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America, 30 states that have adopted e-card laws and/or regulations including Floriday

In Florida, the fine for driving without auto insurance is $150 to $500 depending on the number of offenses. In addition, a person found driving without insurance will have their driver’s license, registration, and license plate suspended.

If you let someone else drive your car and they get in an accident, your insurance company would likely be responsible for paying the claim, depending on what coverages you have on your policy. The claim would go on your insurance record and could affect your car insurance rates in the future.

Auto liability insurance is a type of car insurance coverage that’s required by law in most states. If you cause a car accident — in other words, if you are liable for the accident — liability coverage helps pay for the other person’s expenses.

Auto liability coverage comes in two forms: bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage. Drivers in most states must have both types of coverage.

Coverage that helps pay to repair or replace your car if it’s damaged in an accident with another vehicle or object, such as a fence or a tree. If you’re leasing or financing your car, collision coverage is typically required by the lender. If your car is paid off, collision is an optional coverage on your car insurance policy.

No. The minimum required insurance must be issued through a Florida agent with an insurance company licensed to sell in Florida. Most insurers have Florida agents and are licensed to issue policies in Florida. Just ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to Florida when you register a vehicle in Florida.

Also called Florida No Fault Insurance, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance covers you – regardless of fault (i.e. whether or not you cause the crash) – up to the limits of your policy. Your PIP will also cover your child, members of your household, certain passengers who lack PIP Insurance as long as they do not own a vehicle. People riding in your vehicle who carry PIP will receive coverage under their own PIP for their injuries, and certain licensed drivers who drive your vehicle with your permission. PIP also covers your child if he or she suffers an injury while riding on a school bus. PIP coverage protects you while in someone else’s vehicle, as a pedestrian, or bicyclist if you suffer an injury in a crash involving a motor vehicle. The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law, requires all owner/registrants of a motor vehicle with four wheels or more to carry a minimum of $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) if you own a motor vehicle in Florida. Florida law requires you to maintain PIP/PDL insurance continuously throughout the licensing and registration period.

A flood is a general and temporary condition where two or more acres of normally dry land or two or more properties are inundated by water or mudflow. Just because you haven’t experienced a flood in the past, doesn’t mean you won’t in the future.

Homeowners Insurance Typically Does Not Cover Damage from Floods. For one, you should know that flood damage isn’t typically covered by homeowners insurance. … A local insurance agent can help you purchase an NFIP flood policy. You should also understand that flood insurance isn’t just for homes in high-risk areas.

In some cases, you’ll need your own renters insurance. You don’t need a lease to buy renters insurance, and you don’t even need to be paying rent. … Renters insurance when you live in your parents’home with your parents.

Technically your personal items and liability would be covered under your parents’homeowners insurance policy while you live under their roof. However, if you had to file a claim you would be doing so under their policy

Most small businesses need General Liability and Property Insurance at the very least. If you have employees, you’ll probably need Workers’ Compensation Insurance as well; most states require it. Commercial Auto is important if you or your employees drive for your business.

Small business insurance helps cover the costs of liability and property damage claims. It can also replace lost income if your business is temporarily unable to operate because of a covered incident. Because small business insurance encompasses an array of different coverages, most small business insurance policies can be tailored to fit your business’s unique needs. This way, you can add the protection you need and avoid paying for coverages your business won’t use.